Support Support EDT
  • How to manage the alternation between group and whole-class lessons

1 - Create the periods to modify the weeks of whole classes

The use of periods is not compulsory, but it can be useful if you have already defined the weeks when students will have lessons in groups and those when they will have lessons as a whole class.
  1. Go to the menu Parameters > Institution > Periods.



  2. Create a new breakdown Customized.



  3. Click on the weeks where the timetable changes (students move from the whole class to small groups or vice versa, students are on vacation, students return to school, etc.): you obtain X periods.
  4. Group together the periods that will have the same timetable:
    • Select all periods corresponding to whole-class lessons, then click on the button Group the periods and enter a designation.
    • Select all periods corresponding to group lessons, then click on the button Group the periods and enter a designation.
    • Select all the periods corresponding to the vacations, then click on the button Group the periods and enter a designation.

2 -Modify the lessons in the weeks with a whole class

Modify the alignments (if you've created periods)

If you have created periods to designate whole-class weeks, you can only modify the alignments on these weeks, indicating the class seen by each teacher.
  1. Go to the display Timetable > Lesson > List.
  2. Select the alignments for a subject and level, in other words, the corresponding complex lessons.



  3. If necessary, modify the periods allocated to these lessons: right-click, then choose Modify > Periods if possible then tick all the periods in the window that concern the needs groups.
  4. On the period bar at the bottom, click on the period corresponding to whole-class weeks.



  5. Launch the command Edit > Remove the distribution mode (EDT displays in brackets the weeks on which you act).

Modify the lesson specifications for whole-class weeks

  1. Open the lesson specification window with the command Edit > Specification or the shortcut Ctrl + R.



  2. Indicate next to each teacher the class he or she will be teaching as a whole class.



  3. There are likely to be one or more teachers without a class.
  4. Choose One class meeting per teacher as a distribution method.



  5. As you're working in multi-selection, the lessons are not displayed below.
  6. Close the window.

Modify the teachers

The teachers who don't have classes can be removed from the lessons or added as co-teachers on one of the whole-class lessons.
Remove the teacher from the lesson
  1. Select the lesson.
  2. Click on the cross displayed by hovering next to the teacher to remove him/her from the lesson. The teacher becomes available in these weeks for other activities.



Place the teacher in co-teaching
  1. Select the lesson, open the specification window with the command Edit > Specify or the shortcut Ctrl + R.
  2. Click on the button Cancel the distribution.




  3. Select the two teachers concerned, right-click and choose Place in co-teaching.



  4. Select the standard distribution mode again and close the window.



Don't forget to highlight the whole year on the period bar when you've finished all the manipulations for the weeks in which the students are in whole class.
Was this content useful to you ?

Can't find an answer to your question ?

Contact our support

INDEX ÉDUCATION | © 2026 - C